Fantastic 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer

Fantastic 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer PG (2007)

Dir: Tim Story; Starring: Ioan Gruffudd, Jessica Alba, Chris Evans, Michael Chiklis

He's, err, the silver surfer

This was on the telly. I was tired and wanted to watch something mindless. What I actually wanted to watch was something with Harrison Ford in it, namely something like Patriot Games, or I could happily have gone for a Steven Segal classic. Under Siege was on but too late for my weary eyes, and so it was to be this dreary comic book non-event that sent me to bed. And it did send me to bed. On the sofa. The list of things that irritated me about this film is too long to mention, so I’ll just settle for Susan Storm (Alba).

Susan Storm is a super-hero but she’s actually just bothered about having a perfect wedding to Mr Fantastic. She’s whiny and annoying whereas he’s the scientific, rational one. If this tired dichotomy continues to be played out on our screens then how are we ever going to move on? I don’t care if it’s based on original source material.

As I was asleep for the end and even before that wasn’t entirely sure what was happening, I can’t offer much in way of plot summary. Something was trying to destroy the planet, anyway, that’s all you need to know, and it was up to the Fantastic Four to save it. Which they did, I think. And everyone learnt some valuable lessons along the way. Maybe. The only moderately good bit was Stan Lee’s cameo, but even that’s gotten a little bit tired. As am I, just thinking about this film. Yawn.

One response to “Fantastic 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer

  1. Hi! Great blog, I’ve really enjoyed reading the last few posts, I’ll stick you on my blogroll. I write a couple of blogs myself, one about Sheffield. Found you through Seven Hills Blog.

    Keep writing!

    Rosie

Leave a Reply

